Day 197 – Chocolate Banana Muffins (gluten free)

Thank you Tia from Glugle GlutenFree for this wonderfully delicious chocolate banana muffin recipe.

I was definitely in a baking mood today. I just wanted to chill out and do what I wanted to do, and that was bake. It always lifts my spirits, even if the output is not that great. It is the baking process that is so soothing. The gathering together of the ingredients, the breaking of eggs, the peeling and mashing of bananas, the stickiness of the honey, the perfect measuring of dry ingredients, the sifting of cocoa. I love it all. And if I get a gorgeous smell wafting throughout the house as it bakes in the oven, that’s great.

And if I get a delicious tasting baked product at the end of it all, even better!

Banana Chocolate Muffins

Ingredients
2c almond flour (packed down)
1/2c cocoa powder (I use Equagold premium dutch cocoa)
1tsp baking soda
½ tsp salt
1tbsp cinnamon
1tsp nutmeg
2-3 ripe mashed bananas (depending on size. I used 2 large ones.)
3 eggs
¼c grapeseed oil
½ cup honey (original recipe uses Agave Nectar)

Preheat oven to 180C and pop 12 muffin cases into a muffin pan.

1) Put almond flour, salt, cinnamon and nutmeg in a medium bowl.
2) Sift in baking soda and cocoa powder and mix dry ingredients together.
3) In a separate (and larger) bowl, place the mashed bananas, grapeseed oil, honey and break in the eggs.
4) Mix wet ingredients together. (I used an electric mixer on medium only long enough to beat eggs in.)
5) Add the dry ingredients into the wet ingredients and stir until combined.
6) Place spoonfuls of mixture into the muffin cases to 3/4 full. It makes 12 reasonably large muffins.

Bake for 15 – 20 minutes. Check with a cake skewer for doneness. (The original recipe says to bake for 22 – 24 minutes but my oven seems to be very hot.)
Allow to cool before eating.

Haitch’s children (Fray and Kae) were visiting and no one waited for the muffins to go cold. They were devoured while still warm and the kids (and Haitch) loved them.

This entry was posted in Baking, Recipes and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Day 197 – Chocolate Banana Muffins (gluten free)

  1. Janet NZ says:

    Mmmm they look GOOD!

  2. Catalina says:

    Mmm… They look delicious, and the paper cup is soooooo cute !!!

  3. I have my niece Rac in Wellington, to thank for the cute paper cup. They were in my birthday parcel.
    These muffins were probably one of the best I’ve made so far.

  4. Hi,

    Sorry it has taken me a while to get here, but I am so glad you liked the muffins. They always seem to be a hit. And thanks for the link love. You have a lovely blog, here. And I hope you continue after the 365 days are up.

    xo – Tia

  5. Ooh! I’m book marking this for later – I think I might have to make a vegan version!

  6. I’ve been happily watching a couple of bananas go black this week so I am going to make some more today. To make them vegan do you just replace the eggs or the honey as well?

  7. Pingback: Day 248 – The perfect gluten free compliment | Coeliac diagnosis – Gluten Free OMG!

  8. Pingback: Day 288 – “Ladies a plate please” but mine is gluten free | Coeliac diagnosis – Gluten Free OMG!

  9. Pingback: Cutting down on sugar – update | Coeliac diagnosis – Gluten Free OMG!

  10. Michele says:

    Yahoo I have bananas begging to be used and these look so edible!

Leave a Reply

