Gluten free ice cream cone disappointment – Scoop Ice Cream London

One thing I have missed since being gluten free is ice cream in a cone. I’ve never really eaten much ice cream and pre gluten free I would probably have bought an ice cream in a cone about once a year, so I don’t know really why I miss them now. I guess it is just the thought that if I want one, I can’t have one.

That is, until I was in London recently. I was searching the internet and found “free from (gluten’s)” post and Gluten-Free London’s post on gluten free ice cream cones available at  Scoop. So I excitedly told Em that we would meet after work in Covent Garden so that I could have an ice cream in a cone. It was a nice sunny London spring day and I was really looking forward to my first ice cream in a cone for about eighteen months.

So we met after work in Covent Garden and made our way to the store. We walked in and were greeted with a gorgeous array of flavours. Em selected his first because I wanted more time to choose.

Then it was my turn, I chose my flavour and then said I wanted it in a gluten free cone. He said we don’t have gluten free cones. I think my mouth dropped open and I looked at Em and he looked at me and I think I nearly cried.

What made it worse was that there was no explanation from the man behind the counter when he clearly saw how surprised / upset I was. There was no “I am sorry but we have run out of gluten free cones” or no “We don’t stock gluten free cones anymore”.  Just stony silence.

I have since found this post from Gluten-Free London dated February 2009 that says “They haven’t had the g-f cones when I’ve been recently, but am presuming they probably get them in for the summer.” Maybe Scoop don’t actually have them anymore. Come to think of it, they don’t mention gluten free cones on their website (although I swear they did a few weeks ago).

I will send them an email to find out and update you.

This entry was posted in Product and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Gluten free ice cream cone disappointment – Scoop Ice Cream London

  1. Pingback:  FreeFrom » Scoop! Gluten free icecream cones in Covent Garden »  FreeFrom

  2. Aitch says:

    That is a sad story :( I hope you still got to eat an ice cream in a cup – and that he was helpful about which of the ice cream flavours were gluten free?

  3. Pingback: Eight restaurant, very gluten free friendly (and a gluten free ice cream in a cone) | Coeliac diagnosis – Gluten Free OMG!

  4. Pingback: A gluten free ice cream in a cone | Coeliac diagnosis – Gluten Free OMG!

  5. I was so pleased to find Tommy & James’s Nice Cream (gluten, dairy and nut free – http://niceblocks.co.nz/nice-cream/) on my recent holiday in NZ – bought it in a small store in Oamaru (sorry, can’t remember the name but they seemed relatively new and were on Thames Street, near the centre of town – not listed on Tommy & James’s website and couldn’t spot them on StreeView either, but I promise they are there!).

    As for cones, I haven’t tried them yet, but Eskal appear to offer GF cones and (http://www.eskalfoods.com/) and distribute in NZ.

Leave a Reply

