Gluten Free Melting Moments Recipe

This post was going to be my Anzac biscuit post. I know it is a bit late but I didn’t manage to bake on Anzac day. A friend emailed me an Anzac biscuit recipe she found online but I realised it was the same recipe as the biscuits I made last year from My Darling Lemon Thyme.

So I decided this post will be about my melting moments I made last week.

I used to love melting moments. I still do of course. They were a favourite of my mum’s on her baking day as we were growing up. So I decided to try making them. I did have a gluten free recipe in one of my cookbooks but this particular day I decided to be adventurous and convert a classic recipe. In fact, I converted the recipe from the Edmonds Cookery Book. The very same recipe that my mum used to use to make her melting moments. Did I succeed? I think I did, enough to want to try them again. I may change the mix a bit next time but those that tried them thought they tasted good.

Gluten Free Melting Moments (converted from the Edmonds Cookbook)

Ingredients
200g softened butter
3/4c gluten free icing sugar
1c gluten free flour (*from the mix below)
1c cornflour
1/2 tsp gluten free baking powder

Preheat oven to 180c

1) Cream butter and sugar until light and fluffy.
2) Sift flour, cornflour and baking powder into the creamed mixture.
3) Mix well.
4) Roll dough into small balls (the size of large marbles) and place on a baking tray (greased or lined with baking paper)
5) Flatten slightly with a floured fork
6) Bake for 20 minutes
7) Cool on wire rack

Sandwich two biscuits together with passionfruit icing. (I made butter cream passionfruit icing but it split as you can probably see in the photo.)
Place 1c icing sugar, 1/4 tsp vanilla essence and 1tsp softened butter in a bowl. Add enough boiling water to mix to a stiff consistency. Add the scooped out pulp of approximately two passionfruit.

* gluten free flour mix used in the melting moments
700g white rice flour
200g potato flour
100g tapioca flour

This entry was posted in Baking, Recipes. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Gluten Free Melting Moments Recipe

  1. Aitch says:

    Wow that was brave of you! I’m so glad they turned out well :)

    • They were nice but definitely could be improved. I think I was just cross that the icing filling split and so I was never going to be enthused over them after that.

Leave a Reply

