Gluten Free Afghan Biscuit Recipe

I have always loved afghan biscuits. My mum used to make delicious afghans, but then all of her baking was delicious. Afghans are a traditional New Zealand biscuit made with cornflakes and cocoa. I proudly adapted the Edmonds cookery book recipe to gluten free last weekend and took some to work on Monday. I thought they were good enough to share.

But when I got to work, the new girl (my friend Ti’s replacement) had also baked in the weekend and of course they weren’t gluten free. She had also brought her baking in to share. Luckily I hadn’t got mine out when she proudly announced that she had baked in the weekend and then she took her produce out of her bag. Oh gosh! I am so very pleased that mine were discreetly tucked away where no one could compare hers with mine!

So at lunch time I carefully eased my little afghan out of the container and tried to gobble it up before anyone saw it. But just as I was eating it, along came Mar whose daughter bakes. He loves baked goodies and he is always showing off his daughter’s baking to me, knowing I can’t eat them. He looked at my afghan and said “what’s that?”.  I said “an afghan!” He then did a little giggle and said that it looked like the last of the cookie dough that I had bunched up and thrown into the oven! Hmmmpphhh! Well Mar, mine looks exactly like the original afghan as pictured in Wikipedia. You see,  you are English and probably don’t know what a traditional New Zealand afghan biscuit should look like.

On that note, here is my gluten free afghan recipe that I adapted from the Edmonds Cookery Book recipe.

Gluten Free Afghan Biscuits 

Ingredients
200g butter, softened
1/2c sugar
1.5c gluten free flour mix (* I used the mix below)
1/2tsp guar gun
1/4c cocoa
2c gluten free cornflakes (I get mine from Binn Inn)

Traditional Chocolate Icing
2c icing sugar
2tbsp gluten free cocoa (I use Equagold)
1/2tsp butter
1/4tsp vanilla essence
2tbsp boiling water
Walnuts (pick the halves if you can find any)

Preheat oven to 180c

1) Cream butter and sugar until light and fluffy
2) Sift flours, cocoa and guar gum and stir into the creamed mixture
3) Fold in the cornflakes. The mixture will be quite dry.
4) Gently squeeze a spoonful of mixture in your hand and place it on baking paper on a baking tray.
5) Gently press down with a fork
6) Bake for 12 to 15 minutes until they are set
7) Let them cool on the baking tray for a while so that they don’t fall apart when you move them
8) Ice when cold with chocolate icing.

Chocolate icing
1) Sift icing sugar and cocoa into a bowl.
2) Add butter and vanilla essence
3) Add sufficient boiling water to make a fairly thick, spreadable consistency
4) Ice biscuits and decorate with a walnut. (Walnuts are meant to be optional but to me afghans aren’t complete without them.)

* gluten free flour mix used in the afghans
700g white rice flour
200g potato flour
100g tapioca flour

This entry was posted in Baking, Recipes and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Gluten Free Afghan Biscuit Recipe

  1. Aitch says:

    I am sad you didn’t end up sharing them with the people at work as you thought yours weren’t good enough. They look lovely! :)

  2. :-) Thank you love. And they probably weren’t good enough compared to hers but we liked them.

  3. Jenny says:

    Hi, I just found you through JanetNZ blog and thought I would leave a comment. I have gone wheat free for my health having had fibromyalia for years and now that I am feeling so much better I know that diet or rather the food we eat has such a huge impact on our health.
    I love the look of your Afghans. That Edmonds book is a real NZ icon :)
    Jenny……..another NZer

    • Hi Jenny. I understand that fibromyalia is not a very pleasant autoimmune to have. Before being diagnosed with Coeiliac Disease I may not have really thought much about the food we eat and the effect it has on our bodies. But yes, I agree. I sometimes wish I could go back to eating everything obliviously but I know that eating gluten free is not a huge sacrifice and the health benefits are massive.
      Thank you so much for your comment.

  4. Janet NZ says:

    Mar needs a SMACK! – you are a MUCH nicer person than me… not only would I not share my precious baking with such ninnies, but I really would have smacked him – really I would! :-)

  5. Mel says:

    Thank you for this great recipe. I love making these for the kids and I can make them for everyone. Love your blog, great information.

  6. Ali's World says:

    My son just made afghans from Edmonds cook book we LOVE those afghans. I was making about 4-5 batches double and tripling them a month and giving them away. then we became gluten free for health reasons… I was very close to yours, I adapted it but didn’t turn out to well.. Next time I will use your recipe..

Leave a Reply

