Quite a long time into being gluten free, I realised that some of the Greggs spices are not gluten free. Garam masala is one of the Greggs spices that contain wheat. I don’t use this spice mix very often but I don’t like being without it as you never know when you may need it. I had found a “recipe” for making my own garam masala spice mix so I knew that if I did need it for a dish, I could always make my own.
But now I don’t have to make my own. I found gluten free garam masala in the Spice Trader range. Most of their spices are gluten free but you do need to check as I did find one when searching online that wasn’t gluten free. It was clearly marked on the website that it wasn’t gluten free so I am presuming that the spice packaging was also clear if you happened to pick it up in a shop.
Having discovered that a number of Gregggs spices were not gluten free was like a little step backwards in my gluten free journey. However, finding the Spice Trader gluten free spices was like two steps forward.