The ingredients may be gluten free but has the pan been dusted with flour?

I recently went to a get together of a group of friends who share a similar interest. There is always plenty to eat and lots of laughs to be had.

On the heavily gluten ladened table, there were some mini frittatas. Most frittatas are gluten free but I thought I had better check before I ate them. The maker of the frittatas talked me patiently through the ingredients and yes, there was no gluten in the ingredients, so I ate one, and then another and another (not all at once of course).

That evening my tummy was bloated and I felt uncomfortable. I had also had breakfast at a cafe that morning but I couldn’t think of anything that may have contained gluten that I had inadvertently eaten.

The next day I contacted the host to say thank you for the lovely day and she said she had been feeling terrible and was hoping that I was ok because she had forgotten to tell me she had dusted the pans she had made the frittatas in, with flour. Oh dear. An honest mistake. A mistake that was to last a week. My tummy remained bloated and cramping for most of the week and on Wednesday the familiar feeling of exhaustion set in.

Exhaustion is a common symptom of Coeliac disease. It is an exhaustion (for me anyway) that is very hard to describe.  It is overpowering and all encompassing. When it first hit me on Tuesday, I had forgotten I had eaten flour dusted frittatas and thought that maybe I was developing sleep apnoea. I had such an urgent desire to just put my head down wherever I was, and go to sleep. Then I remembered the frittatas.

This entry was posted in Gluten free and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to The ingredients may be gluten free but has the pan been dusted with flour?

  1. Janetnz says:

    It’s awful isn’t it – the exhaustion? It seems to last for ages too. I’m not sure which is worse- that or the terrible cramps I get when I get glutened.
    Hope you feel better soon XO

  2. Aitch says:

    Oh no! An honest mistake but only one that would be made by someone without a coeliac in the family.

  3. Molly says:

    No! That’s so annoying! Hope you’re feeling better by now.

Leave a Reply

