Gluten free dark chocolate and raspberry brownie tarts

Almost nothing tastes better than dark chocolate and raspberries.

DSC_0020

The week leading up to Christmas when I was still at work and wishing I wasn’t, I was having a coffee with Haitch in a local cafe, taking our time before we both trudged back to work. I picked up the local newspaper (NZ Herald) and as I was flicking through, I found this recipe for Donna Hay’s dark chocolate and raspberry brownie tarts with chocolate ganache.

DSC_0021

The recipe only has ¼ cup of flour so it must be easy to convert to gluten free. So I carefully and quietly ripped out the recipe and popped it into my bag. Sorry for those of you out there that hate people who do that.

I tried it just before Christmas and it was absolutely delicious. Very rich, particularly after pouring on the chocolate ganache but that is fine. You can do what I did and save half for the next day.

Gluten free dark chocolate and raspberry brownie tarts

Ingredients
200g dark GF chocolate, chopped (I used Whittakers Dark Ghana)
60g unsalted butter
1/2c brown sugar
1/4c pouring cream
3 eggs (I used my own free range eggs from my chickens)
1/4c gluten free flour (any gluten free flour mix should do)
250g raspberries

Chocolate ganache

Ingredients
300g dark chocolate, chopped
1c pouring cream

Preheat oven to 150c.

1) Place the chocolate, butter, sugar and cream in a saucepan over low heat and stir until melted and smooth.
2) Place the eggs and flour in a bowl and whisk until well combined.
3) Whisk in the chocolate mixture until combined.
4) Pour into 4 x 10cm round lightly greased springform cake tins lined with non stick baking paper. (I didn’t have small springform cake tins so I used greased and lined ramekins. The brownies came out perfectly for serving.)
5) Top with the raspberries.
6) Bake for 35 – 40 minutes or until cooked when tested with a skewer. (Mine took 35 minutes)

To make the chocolate ganache.
7) Place the chocolate and cream in a small saucepan over low heat and stir until melted and smooth. (I put mine in a glass bowl and placed over a pan of simmering water.)

DSC_0023

Serve the tarts smothered with chocolate ganache.

This entry was posted in Dessert, Recipes and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Gluten free dark chocolate and raspberry brownie tarts

  1. alwaysamum says:

    Looks terribly decadent. We have a family birthday next week, this will be perfect.

  2. Janetnz says:

    Ahem… So… How is the eat less sugar thing going? Ahem, cough :-)
    Happy New Year XO

  3. roma1912 says:

    Thanks sooo much for sharing this wonderful recipe, to be honest I do have a collection of secretly acquired magazine articles, even worse colleagues at The Workplace have started to collect them on my behalf !!!!

Leave a Reply

